Counter

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Friday 13th - Sunday 15th August 2010

I was going to go out to do some shopping today (Friday) but as it turned out Dylan wasn't well. He had a bit of a temperature and I could see from his eyes that he was not feeling like himself. He spent the day going between watching Dora and sleeping. He didn't want to do anything and had no appetite. I felt so bad for him and gave him Calpol to help with any pain he might have, but he was just very quiet and very subdued all day.

Raj Kumar had asked for today off because his sister was having a baby and going into hospital today. So, as it turned out, it was a very quiet day with nothing much happening. I did some housework and cleaning (as 'The Kumar' wouldn't be here for three days in a row).

Had a really bad night with Abigail on Friday night and DJ was awake at about 3.30 a.m for a couple of hours. So, on Saturday morning I felt horrendous! Not only am I fighting off the end of this flu/cold thing, but I hardly had any sleep at all. Both children were really snotty and coughing a lot today. Dylan looked worse than he did yesterday (on Friday) if that's even possible. So, he literally spent the day in bed. He would get up for half an hour here and there, but always ended up asking to go back to bed and watch Balamory or Teletubbies. That's when I know he's really, really ill – he actually asks for bed!! Abi had a long sleep this morning for about 2 and a half hours and I slept for about half of that. I find it really hard to go back to sleep in the day time no matter how tired I am. I think it's worse too as when I do get the chance to sleep (if both babies are napping), one of them always seems to wake up so I only get a few minutes and then feel worse for that. Anyway, we did absolutely nothing today. I made Dylan two of his favourite meals for lunch and dinner and neither one enticed him to eat.

In the afternoon Penri went out to the supermarket with a small shopping list. The main thing being nappies that we were absolutely desperate for. It got so bad because I hadn't shopped yesterday that DJ was wearing swim nappies for the day time and normal nappies for bed. Penri said the supermarket was absolutely bedlam! Worse than normal and it took him about 2 hours to pick up a handful of items. I am so glad we didn't go out too!

Today was another very quiet day. It's Indian Independence Day so we were told it was best if we didn't go out. So, I spent time playing with the children, watching a bit of television and again, making DJ some nice meals, but again he had about two mouthfuls. I am trying not to worry as I remember how I felt when I was on my really bad days of this flu – I didn't want to eat anything; I just had no appetite. I have given both children Calpol tonight before putting them to bed and they both went to sleep with no trouble. It's now 7.50 p.m and I am debating what to have for dinner.

Abigail is off her food too. The weaning was going so well and all of a sudden we seem to be doing really badly again. I feel like we're taking one step forward and then five back! She doesn't want anything apart from breastfeeding. I have tried her with several different things and she is just not interested. She shakes her head from side to side really fast so that I can't actually get the spoon in her mouth and when I gave her medicine earlier with the help of Pen, she literally just spat it all out and it went everywhere. Calpol is so sticky and sickly sweet and it was just all over her and me. Straight in the bath after that!!

I am aching today. My entire body aches and worse of it is … my knees. Both my knees are giving me so much pain that it's actually causing a headache! I look ridiculous as I am walking around with a knee support on each leg and trying to rest as much as possible. The worst thing is, I can't seem to get comfortable so there is no way of laying or sitting where they don't hurt me. Oh well, will keep my feet up and hope the pain goes away by tomorrow.

Not much news from here really. Things have been so quiet the last three days so not much to write about. I do have a photo to put on here. Dylan has this thing when he plays with cars or trains … he lines them all up in really neat lines. It's the cutest thing. He actually drives each car/train individually and places it somewhere then gets another one and lines it up behind or next to the other one. It's fascinating to watch! Mel reckons he gets that organisational skill from me lol. Yesterday, Dylan and I got out all his cars and trains and we lined them up together all in rows along the floor. He loved it and kept saying 'WOW!' Even when we were finished, I thought he was going to just mess it all up but he didn't. He started driving the cars out of the lines they were in and making new lines. So funny!! Anyway, going to go now and sort out dinner. Will write soon x

No comments:

Post a Comment