Counter

Monday, August 23, 2010

Saturday 21st and Sunday 22nd August 2010

Abigail slept really badly last night (Friday) and from about 2.30 till 5 a.m she was just laid in our bed between us gurgling away. She had toys and rattles and was quite happy not sleeping, but in the process, keeping Pen or I from sleeping either. I finally got her to sleep just after 5 and took her back through to her room and placed her in her cot. I then went straight back to sleep and then at 7 DJ woke us up! Early mornings and not sleeping through the nights is SO difficult! I was just telling someone the other day – Dylan didn't start sleeping through the night until he was a year old and it feels like Abigail will be the same!

Anyway, so I got up with DJ and went to play in his room. It was too early for breakfast and we couldn't go in the play room as I didn't want to wake Abi up. As it turned out, she woke up at 7.40 anyway. We had a quiet morning and when Penri woke up at about 11, I asked him what he wanted to do today. We really needed to get some shopping in but the weather was absolutely horrendous. Thunder, lightning and raining heavily! Pen said he wanted a lazy day, so I took both children and went for a walk to the Estate Office on our compound. The rain had started to slow down so although it was still drizzling, it was manageable. It's very strange walking in the rain when it is so hot that you are wearing shorts and t-shirt (well, the kids were – I had to wear trousers which I rolled up). I don't feel comfortable walking around in shorts and strappy tops here, even on the compound. The lady in the Estate Office wasn't there when we got there so I left her a note to call me on my mobile and I would come back to pay the bills that we had outstanding.

I text and phoned Alex to see if there was home but there was no answer. DJ kept saying 'Isaac's house, Isaac's house' so I decided to take the kids for a walk over there anyway (even if they weren't home). As it turned out, Alex had gone out but Isaac was there with his ayah, Divya, so we stayed and played. Alex came back at 1 p.m and DJ had some lunch with them and then I brought both children home to try and let them have a nap.

Abigail went down for a sleep but Dylan wasn't interested. Pen was still sleeping so I played with Dylan in his room and then we watched a bit of Dora on television. He is really into Dora the Explorer again. It's so strange – he goes through phases where he is hooked on one tv show and that's all he wants to watch and then as quickly as the fad started, it changes to something else. It's funny though – going between Dora, Peppa Pig, Postman Pat, Wibbly Pig and Teletubbies – he always seems to go back to Dora. Anyway, sorry – got a bit carried away there – we watched some Dora and then I made DJ some lunch.

Dylan then went in his room and asked to watch 'Numberjacks' (a new one that he's just getting into). I laid him in bed (thinking he may sleep), put Numberjacks on his DVD player and then went downstairs to go and pay Seema (in the Estate Office). Obviously before I went I told Penri I was going and asked him to listen out for the children. I was only gone about 10 minutes and when I came back both Pen and Abi were sleeping and DJ was still wide awake in his room.

At 5 o'clock I got a text from Alex saying they were going swimming and did we want to join them? I said no because I really didn't feel up to it. Dylan was also very tired so I decided to get both children bathed and into their pyjamas a bit early. I made Dylan's dinner at 5.45 and he was just sitting down to eat when the doorbell rang. It was Alex and Isaac; DJ couldn't sit down to eat then – he got up and went to play with Isaac. We all sat in the playroom and the boys played while Alex and I chatted and then at about 6.50, they left and I got the children to bed. Even though both of them were tired, it took longer than expected and they didn't actually go to sleep until about 8.15. While Alex was at our house, I started to get a tummy ache and by the time the children went to bed, it was even worse. It was really cramping and I was in a lot of pain. Pen got me some medicine and then because he was watching 'Lost' on the television in the bedroom, I went to sleep in Dylan's bed.

Abigail slept for a few hours before waking for another feed, which was great because I got about 3 and a half hours straight sleeping. She was then awake again an hour later and I couldn't get her back to sleep. I think I have mentioned this before but she wakes in the night (normally between 12.30 and 3.30 and is awake for 2 hours!! There is no getting her back to sleep – she just wants to be awake and playing! Anyway, I was thinking how can I get her out of the routine of staying awake for that couple of hours in the middle of the night and I had an idea. So, when she woke on Saturday night at about midnight and I could see she was wide awake and wide eyed, I tried to feed her (which she didn't want) so I laid her in her cot and left the room. She started to whinge a bit and then she cried. I waited for about 6 minutes, by which point she was crying properly. I went in and picked her up, soothed her and put her back down and then left the room again. Again I waited; this time it was about 10 minutes before she started to cry properly and I went in again. This time, I tried to feed her and she did feed and fell asleep! I laid her back in bed and I was back asleep again with half an hour. After that, she did her usual – waking up every two to three hours for a feed and then going straight back to sleep. She did wake up at 6.30 but because my night had been much better, it wasn't so difficult to get up at that time on Sunday morning. I am happy to say that my tummy was also better, which I was pleased about.

Sunday morning – DJ woke up at about 8 and we played until it was Abigail's nap time, which was 10.30. I put her down for a sleep and then went to see Pen. We decided to go out a bit later on as we needed to do some shopping. Abi didn't sleep for long but while she did, I managed to get quite a bit of housework done. DJ was happy playing in his room and Pen was chilling out in our bedroom.

We headed out to Ambience Mall at about 12.30 and went straight to Big Bazaar to get the food shopping. Amazingly, it was fairly quiet in the shop – normally on the weekends, you cannot move for people and you just can't get down the aisles! So, food shopping was pretty painless for a change. We got most of the things we needed and then Pen took everything down to the car and I took the children up to the food court. We got McDonalds for lunch and Pen joined us about 5 minutes after we got there.

After lunch we took DJ to the play area, which he couldn't wait to get in. It's been a while since we went to the shops – in fact, I think the last time was when Mel was here which is over a week ago. When we put Dylan in the play area, we gave our mobile number and for the first time ever, we left him in there. It's supposed to be completely safe anyway, but we've never left him before. We went into Reliance Shop which has a bit of everything – electronics, clothes, DVDs, homeware etc. We were looking for a couple of things but didn't manage to get anything we needed. After about 20 minutes we went back to the play area and checked on DJ. He was playing really happily and hadn't even noticed we weren't there. We sat at the back of the play area and waited for him to finish playing. While Pen sat with Abigail, I had a quick look around the baby shops. I never normally buy anything but I love looking!

Coming out of the play area, Dylan made a run for it – he ran straight into the Early Learning Centre and straight to this big garage that he always goes and plays with when we go there. They have it right at the front of the shop near the window and it's very enticing for children! The thing I quite like about ELC is they have lots of toys out that the kids can play with while the parents look around. It's a shame the security guard on the door is so slack!! DJ was riding around on a little trike in there and Pens and I were looking around. Obviously, I was keeping an eye on Dylan but he's so fast and I was carrying Abigail on my hip. Next thing I know, he's scooted past the security guard at the door and out of the shop. I went running to catch him just as this big Indian bloke stood in my way. I literally shoved through him saying 'Excuse me!' as I ran past. The security guy at this point, realised Dylan had ridden off on the trike out of the shop and he chased him too. You could see people laughing as Dylan is whizzing down the mall on a trike being chased by a security guy and a woman with a baby screaming 'DJ! Come back!' LOL. Looking back, it is quite funny! The security guard caught up with DJ in another shop and we wheeled him back to the ELC with quite a lot of argument on DJ's part.

Pen's and I were looking for a toy to buy for Dylan and we couldn't decide as there were lots of really nice things. The Early Learning Centre here is what I would call really expensive for India. The toys we were looking at were big toys and in the end we chose the garage that he always plays with every time he goes into the shop. I said to Pen – if we're going to spend a lot of money at least we know it will get played with a lot. We bought the garage and left ELC and went back down to the car. Pretty much as soon as I put Abigail in her car seat, she fell asleep so we decided to head home. It had been a really lovely shopping trip – probably because it's been so long since we've been out shopping.

We got home and I tried to put Abigail back to sleep in her cot while Penri built the garage with the help(?) of DJ. It is a very cool toy, this is a picture of it off the internet:













Just as I got Abigail to sleep, DJ came in the room and woke her up. So, I took her out her cot and put her in the baby walker. Both children played and then I made dinner for Dylan. For some reason, even though DJ hadn't had a nap, he didn't get to sleep until 9.30 p.m! Abigail on the other hand, was asleep at 6.30 even though she woke up quite a few times in the beginning part of the night.

Abi has another tooth pushing through. It's one of her top two! You can just see it under the surface so I don't think it'll be long before it pushes through. She has also started having major tantrums!! If she has something and you take it off her, she literally screams the place down and nothing will stop her unless you give her back what she had. You can see how this can lead to a difficult situation when Dylan takes something off her! The funny thing is – if you try and give her something else, she has now learnt how to throw toys out of her hand so you give her something and she just throws it down on the floor. It's realloy funny!

Dylan is great! He's doing really well and managing without his lunchtime naps. He is so chatty these days and it's really lovely! He knows what he wants and will keep asking until he gets it! At about 8.30 last night (Sunday), he came through to the lounge where I was watching television and said 'Ice lolly, Ice lolly, Ice lolly' with a really big grin on his face! I told him there weren't any but he just kept repeating it over and over. So, I stood up and he ran ahead of me to the kitchen. I lifted him up and showed him the freezer and said 'Look Dylan, there are no ice lollies left'. He looked at me with big blue eyes, thought for a second and then said 'DJ eat it' (pointing to his tummy). I smiled and told him that yes he had. He settled for a drink of juice with ice cubes lol.

No comments:

Post a Comment