Today has been another good day. I still can't believe it's two weeks since we arrived in India. Anyone who has been following my blog can probably guess what we did today … we went shopping and swimming!
We had a quiet ish morning, just chilling around the house. We had quite a few potty training incidents today though. Now that Dylan has learnt to take his nappy off himself, even when he has a nappy on we still have 'accidents'. I was changing Abigail's nappy when Dylan came in, having taken his nappy off, and said 'Mummy poo poo'. I thought great he needs to go, so I jumped up and said 'Come on then DJ, on the toilet'. As we started to walk through to the bathroom, he said 'no Mummy, poo poo' and took my hand. He took me to the kitchen where there on the floor … you guessed it … he had already been! I cleaned up the mess and went to get the mop to disinfect the floor. Just as I finished cleaning, I heard DJ say 'oh no'. I went through to the bathroom to find that he had done a wee wee all over the floor! It's my own fault because I hadn't put a new nappy on him straight away. So, I washed him and put a nappy and clothes on him and then cleaned and disinfected the bathroom floor. As I already had the mop out, I thought I may as well mop all the floors in the apartment, especially as the cleaner only comes on weekdays so they hadn't been done since Friday! That ended up taking me ages although it's kind of good that we have floors everywhere and no carpets because it does make it easier to clean up little accidents!
At 1 o'clock we all got in the car and headed to a shop called Spencers. It's a supermarket (probably the best and biggest chain you get in India). We did some food shopping; not a huge shop – just a few bits for the fridge. They have a luxury section which is all just imported items and at imported prices too!! So, it's things like … Robinsons squash, Tabasco sauce, imported meats and cheeses, peanut butter, jams etc. We bought only a couple of things in the luxury section because they were really expensive.
From Spencers we went onto a different mall where there was a TGI Fridays. Before we went in there, DJ went in the big play area that was there … it is much bigger than the other one he always goes to and they had different things so he spent nearly an hour in there. I had a wander around the shops and then we all went to TGIs for dinner (well, a late lunch really). It was about 3.30 p.m by this point and both children were really tired so Dylan started being really naughty and then Abi started screaming! It was completely manic! The food was OK. I was a bit disappointed because I thought I'd ordered a beef burger, but I hadn't – it was a lamb burger.
When we went to leave the restaurant, Penri realised his mobile battery was completely flat! It didn't even have enough charge to turn the phone on to get our driver's phone number. So, there we were standing in the heat on the side of the road outside the mall trying to decide what to do. We ended up going back into TGIs where I asked one of the waiters to put Penri's sim card into his phone so we could get Tyagi's number. It turns out that his number was saved on the phone, not the sim so we couldn't get it. We went back into the mall and looked for a phone shop where we could charge the phone a bit (just enough to turn it on to get the number)!
I was about to give up hope and kept saying to Penri, let's just get an auto rick home and then we can call Tyagi from there and tell him we don't need him any more. Pen said we wouldn't all fit in an auto. So, we kept looking for a phone shop. Eventually Penri found somewhere where they let us charge the phone for a few minutes and we called the driver and came home. We went straight down to the pool and swam for a bit and then by the time we got home, gave the babies showers and got their pyjamas on, it was bed time.
I got Abigail to sleep while Pen put DJ to bed. Just as she went off to sleep and I was laying her down, I saw something scuttle across the floor! OH NO! Another cockroach! This time though, it was dark in the room and he went under the bedside table. When I moved it, he was gone. Yuck! Yuck! Yuck! They really creep me out. I'm going to have to ask our cleaner to move all the furniture in my bedroom to try and find him. Just the thought of it somewhere in my room … *shivers down my back*!
Abigail woke up at 1 a.m and I couldn't get her back to sleep. She was happily chatting away and wanting to wake up. At this point, I still hadn't been to bed so I was really ready to go to sleep, but she wasn't having any of it. So, we came on the computer and spoke to Sam on Skype, which was cool. It's weird that it was the early hours of the morning here, but it was only 8.30 in the evening in UK! Anyway, it was really lovely to catch up – thanks Sam!
At about 1.45 I tried again to get Abi to sleep but she was not wanting any sleep at all. She screamed every time I put her down. I tried feeding her, holding her, swaying her, dancing slowly – everything and anything to get her to sleep! Nothing worked! Eventually at 5 a.m after 3 hours of trying, both of us crying, her screaming … she finally went to sleep … for two and a half hours!!! She woke up at 7.30 and woke me up too. Then DJ came in at 8 to join the party! I am SO tired!!!! That'll teach me – in future – go to bed as soon as the kids are in bed!
No comments:
Post a Comment