Counter

Wednesday, June 30, 2010

Tuesday 29th and Wednesday 30th June

We had a very chilled day at home today. I was really happy to get on Skype to Indeg and Manon, to Debs and also to Mel. What a cool programme Skype is. It was so lovely to talk to you all. Thank you for brightening our day and making us smile!

Dylan had a fun day today – just playing with all his toys and running around causing havoc! LOL. He can be such a good boy when he wants to be but then this naughty streak comes out in him and he knows he is being naughty but it's like he can't help himself. I saw a really cool t-shirt when shopping the other day – it said something like 'Chaos, Havoc, Disaster – my work here is done!' … I was so tempted to buy it for him but I resisted :)

We went swimming early today (at about 5.30 instead of 7). It completely threw our day out of sync and by 7 p.m both kids were in bed and asleep! Tomorrow I am going to make sure that we go later on so that we can stick to our normal routine.

Because today has been so quiet and uneventful, I am going to combine the blog post with tomorrow's news (that way it's a little bit more interesting to read!)

We all woke up late this morning (Wednesday) at 9 a.m because I had a really bad night with Abi, who was waking up every hour to every hour and a half so she was exhausted hence sleeping in. I decided I was going to go out today as spending a third day in a row stuck in the house really didn't appeal to me and I know it would've driven DJ crazy too! So, we all got dressed and when Pens went to work, we all went in the car too.

After dropping Penri off I went to Spencer's Food shop which is the best supermarket I've seen in India so far. I did quite a bit of shopping but even though the aisles were wide and there weren't that many people, it wasn't easy! I had the double buggy and I had planned on pulling the trolley behind whilst pushing the pushchair in front of me. Dylan, however, had other ideas. He wanted to push the trolley and insisted on walking around the shop. In the end we came to a compromise - I let him walk around with me but we left the trolley at the end of each aisle and Dylan went running backwards and forwards putting the shopping in the trolley. It was so cute! Luckily, Abi had fallen asleep just as we got inside the shop and she slept through the whole food shop which meant I didn't have to worry about her and I could focus on DJ. We got everything on our list and then went and paid and went to find the driver.

The hardest part about shopping here is I still don't have a mobile phone so I can't call Tyagi to come and pick us up when I've finished in a certain shop. You would think it would be fine and he could sit and wait for me outside the shop, but India is not like that. They don't allow cars to park outside the shops/malls. There is normally underground parking or the drivers have to go find somewhere else to wait. They always have a drop off point because nearly everyone here has drivers. Anyway, whenever Tyagi drops me off we always have to agree a time for him to pick me up and I have to make sure I am there at that time because he can't stop in the car outside the shops. Crazy! So, today we had agreed that he would pick me up at 1.30 p.m at the drop off/pick up point but because of the queues in the supermarket, I was a few minutes late. It was mayhem when I got outside as the security guard was going mad shouting at Tyagi to move and then there were cars held up in all directions. It didn't help that he stopped in the middle of a crossroad so no cars could get past from any direction! Oops! We quickly got all the shopping into the car, collapsed the pushchair and all got back in the car and drove off. Straight across to the next shopping mall where I was taking DJ for lunch and to the play area.

I didn't actually need to buy anything in the mall, I just thought it would be nice for Dylan to get to play a bit. I dropped him off and walked around the play area and then Abi and I sat and watched him play. I did go into a couple of the shops that are right next to the play area but didn't buy anything; just had a quick look around. Dylan loved his time in the play area but I was really worried at one point, that he'd hurt himself. He was at the top of the slide and he literally jumped off the top and nose dived forward. He hit his head half way down the slide, I inhaled a deep breath but he stood up, laughed and then jumped in the ball pool at the bottom of the slide. My goodness, he scares me sometimes!

After 45 minutes in the play area we went to McDonalds for lunch. It was packed and there were no real queues, just crowds of people at the tills. I joined the back of what looked similar to a queue and waited. As I reached the till this woman stepped in front of me and placed her order. I was so tempted to say something, but at this point, I just thought 'I cannot be bothered to argue with her' *sigh*

We finished our food 15 minutes before the time I had agreed to meet Tyagi so I walked to the middle of the mall, where there was a book sale. I bought a couple of books for DJ and a little present for one of DJ's friends. We then went to find Tyagi at the agreed meeting point. We found him having an argument with another security guard, who was telling him off for where he had stopped the car. We repeated the whole packing up and loading the car quickly (whilst being shouted at) and off we went and home we came.

We got back just after 3 and I showered and changed both children then Abi went for a nap and DJ and I cleared out the servants quarters. There was a lot of rubbish and empty boxes in there that needed sorting out so with the help of my little man, we got it all sorted. Afterwards I started to read DJ one of the new books I had bought him. It's a nursery rhyme book and there are all the usual 'Twinkle Twinkle', 'Baa Baa Black Sheep' etc etc but there were also a few extra that I have never heard of before. A couple of them made me laugh so I want to share them with you … hope they make you smile ...

















At 6.30 I got the children ready to go swimming and we all walked down to the pool. We swam for quite a long time tonight – about 40 minutes! Both of them love the water so much but normally between 15 and 20 minutes is enough for them. I cannot believe how confident Dylan is getting in the water. It's brilliant! He has his arm bands on and he stands on the side of the pool and says 'Ready, Steady, Go!' and then he jumps in! It makes my heart miss a beat every time, but he always pops up out of the water laughing. He loves it!! After swimming I showered the children in the changing room and came home. I have started a new routine now of telling DJ a story (we don't have many books with us as they are in cargo). I make up a story which Dylan loves and whenever I finish and say 'The End', he always says 'more story'. It's so cute! Tonight, I took Abi into DJ's room and told them both a story and then said 'night night' to Dylan and brought Abigail back in my room to feed her and get her to sleep.

Dylan is so cheeky. He kept getting out of bed and coming to my bedroom door. Every time I said to him 'Dylan bed', he walked away and came back two minutes later. The problem was, every time I spoke, I disrupted Abi's feed and she tried to sit up! In the end, after about 5 attempts at getting DJ to go back to his room, I didn't say anything to him when he came back. It was just so, so cute. He had his pillow in one hand and a little toy in the other. He came into my room really quietly, put his pillow on the bed, climbed up and got under my cover. He didn't make a sound! I stroked his hair and he turned over and closed his eyes. Within 3 or 4 minutes he was asleep! Abigail fell asleep about 10 minutes after and I put her in her bed. I then carried Dylan back into his room and went to make my dinner.

Twice now I have bought these frozen cheese samosas which I love. But twice I have cooked them and it has gone horribly wrong! You are supposed to shallow fry them on a low flame for 4 – 6 minutes. When they're made properly, they're delicious! The first time I made them I didn't have any oil, so I used mustard oil. It was gross and they had a slightly spicy taste. Tonight when I made them, I got the oil too hot so when I put them in the pan they cooked far too quickly and too much. Disappointed or what?! I was really looking forward to them. Never mind, third times the charm!

So, it's now just gone 9 p.m and both children are in bed and asleep and I'm going to follow suit. Penri is still at work and has told me he's going to be late tonight, so I'm not going to wait up. Before I go, I've got a few cute pictures of the kids to include in my post:

















Goodnight x

No comments:

Post a Comment