I've got so much to write about as it has been 3 days since I posted. I apologise for this but I have been poorly and unable to get to the computer. On Thursday, we had a very chilled out day at home. I did some tidying up and sorting and the children and I played, very much our typical day at home.
During late morning, I was in the bedroom on Skype and the main house phone rang. Before I could even stand up, Dylan went running down the corridor and I heard him saying 'I get it!' and because I thought he wouldn't even reach the phone before it stopped ringing, I never moved. It was only after a few minutes when he hadn't come back that I realised he must be talking to someone. I went and checked and there he was having a conversation with his Nan. I told her we'd call her back because I was on Skype and hung up the phone. Dylan was most upset because he loves being on the phone, even though most of the time he doesn't actually say anything, he just sits there with it pressed to his ear. He gets very upset when I take it off him though. Anyway, we called Nan back on Skype and he was able to talk to her a bit more.
By this point, Abi had woken up from her nap and so we started preparing lunch. DJ is now at the stage where he wants to do everything himself. So, when it comes to things like making lunch – he likes to choose what he wants (which is great) but he then wants to help cook it all as well. This would be fine, except when Abigail is awake too because then I am holding her, keeping DJ away from the stove and trying to cook lunch/dinner all at the same time. It certainly keeps me on my toes! Can't wait for the cargo to arrive because at least I will have somewhere safe to put her – in her baby walker, baby bouncer or in her activity gym. At the moment, I only have the pushchair and she doesn't like being sat in it unless she is moving and there is interesting things for her to see (which I can understand).
We had a very quiet afternoon on Thursday, went swimming about 7 and then we all had an early night. I had a bit of a tummy ache and wasn't feeling great and I hoped the sleep would make me better quicker. How wrong I was! I was up and down all night going to the bathroom and feeling really, really dodgy! Then first thing in the morning, it must've been about 6 a.m I started vomiting too. By mid-morning I was so bad, feeling incredibly weak and exhausted, and still being ill and close to fainting a couple of times; I asked Penri if he could possibly work at home because I didn't want to be by myself with the children. Luckily, he was able to stay at home just in case I needed him (which I'm happy to say, I didn't). I do feel bad for being so crap for the children that day – I literally sat up in bed to feed Abi when she needed feeding and gave her a few toys to play with when she was awake; DJ watched cartoons most of the day (in my bedroom on the laptop) and I just laid on the bed feeling horrendous! I asked the driver to pick up McDonalds for Dylan because I could not face the sight or smell of food and then for dinner I gave DJ a very quick and easy meal of potato and vegetable nuggets with some cheese. Only because I couldn't bear to be in the kitchen for more than a few minutes!
By 4.30, both the children and I all went to sleep and slept for two hours! I woke up feeling a lot better; still not fully recovered but at least feeling slightly less nauseous. Pen took DJ swimming at 7 and Abi and I went out for a walk to the shop. I went to get some saltine crackers as I hadn't eaten anything all day. We then went home via the pool to pick up DJ and came home, got changed and went to bed. Dylan didn't actually sleep until about midnight because he had only just woken up from a nap but Pen was awake with him.
This morning (Saturday) I woke up at 6 with Abi and she didn't want to go back to sleep so we got up and got on Skype with Mel. By 9 a.m she was tired again so she went for a quick half hour nap and I tried to sleep too. Unfortunately during that time, the doorbell rang twice so I didn't get to sleep at all. I did rest for a bit though. By 11 a.m Dylan still hadn't woken up so I went in to wake him. As soon as he heard me and Abi, he pretty much jumped out of bed and was full of beans!
We had some breakfast and then played and watched some tv for a couple of hours. Abigail went for a nap at midday so I got to spend some time with DJ. We (me with the help of DJ) ended up cooking a nice lunch of rice, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower which he ate with cheese and olives. We had lunch at the dining table as I didn't want to disturb Abi and we spoke to my mum on Skype whilst eating. I just had plain rice which was really bland and gross, but I didn't think my stomach was up to much else. After dinner we went back into the bedroom and Dylan played with his cars until Abi woke up.
At 4 o'clock, we all went out to the large shopping mall. We took DJ in the play area and then for a late lunch/early dinner and then went to Big Bazaar (which has to be one of my favourite shops in India). It was so busy though, that you could barely move and because Pen had the trolley and I had the pushchair it was really hard to stay together. The most annoying thing about the supermarket or any shops here, is people just stop to chat and gather in the middle of aisles and the aisles aren't that wide. It drives me crazy! When you say 'Excuse me' or 'Please can I get past?' they just ignore you like you never even spoke. In the end, you just have to do what everyone else does and push through them, which I hate doing!
In Big Bazaar, I was looking to buy a tape measure as I want to measure up Abigail's bedroom for some new curtains. I have looked in quite a few shops now and haven't managed to find a tape measure anywhere. I don't know where else to look! I asked my driver and he said I need to go to a specialist shop but that means going into little shops outside the mall and I don't feel safe doing that with two little ones. The smaller shops outside by the roads aren't suitable for pushchairs because of the sandy/rocky ground and also there are just loads of people and we would stand out too much. I don't like the idea of taking the children there. Maybe I'll just have to ask Tyagi to go and buy me one without me.
Penri and I were talking about standing out when we were in the mall because everywhere we walk, we get stared at. It does get annoying because although I don't think the people here realise how rude it is, they literally just stare at you, mouths gaping and follow your every move. When we were talking, I said to Pen that I'm sure it is more the children they are looking at and Penri reminded me that when we lived in Chennai, I used to get stared at all the time because of my blonde hair. He reminded me how few blonde people there are in India so I do kind of attract looks when we're out and now that we've got the two babies with us, we get even more stares. It's just one of the things about living here and I have to remember how to let it not bother me.
While we were in the mall, whilst DJ was in the play area, I had to find a seat to sit and feed Abi. Throughout the whole mall there are sofas (like proper leather sofas) and armchairs randomly placed. So, I found a small chair and got my feeding cover out and started to feed her. While I was sat there, I did a bit of people watching (not staring, I might add, just glancing) and it's the strangest thing. I started looking at peoples feet. Now I actually hate feet, but I love shoes. So, there I was watching people walking by and I was looking at their feet/shoes. It absolutely amazed me how many people wear shoes that don't actually fit them. There was a woman whose heels were hanging off the back of her flip-flops and I couldn't help but think how uncomfortable that must be. Then there was a young boy whose toes were hanging over the front of his sandals and it's not because his feet had slid forwards – they were all the way at the back of the sandals but he had just completely outgrown them and again, I thought, uncomfortable! Finally, and this is the one that really gets me … can anybody tell me … why do women wear shoes that they cannot walk in?! They look uncomfortable, they walk like they've messed themselves and in the process, they must be damaging their feet and their posture dramatically!!! I saw so many ladies who literally could not walk in the shoes they were wearing and I asked myself 'why?' It's one of those great unanswered questions and one that I will always wonder because I know that I personally, couldn't wear shoes that I was uncomfortable in.
Anyway, moving on. Our cargo still has no sign of turning up and Penri reckons it's going to be another 10 days before we even stand a chance of seeing it. I'm so upset about this and more annoyed than you can imagine! There's been a mix up with the paperwork from UK and it's made everything hold up. Penri sent his passport and Indian registration documents in the post to Mumbai because they need the original documents and because they didn't have the correct paperwork, they put his passport and things back in the post to us here in Delhi. So now we have to wait to get it back and then send it back again. How ridiculous!! We have been without our things and living out of suitcases for nearly six weeks now! I cannot wait for it to get to us!!!
Going back to my diary of events on Saturday. We got back from the mall and as we were getting out the car and getting all the shopping out of the boot, Dylan made a run for it. He ran towards the park and no amount of shouting from Pen or me was going to get him to stop. I started to go after him with Abi in my arms, but then Tyagi (our driver) went after him and carried him back. Dylan was so upset that he had been caught and he hid around the corner from Tyagi and refused to say goodbye to him. It was only when Tyagi started to drive away that Dylan actually realised he was leaving that he came out and said 'Bye Tyagi' and blew him a kiss. DJ can be such a monkey! Lol. We all came upstairs, changed and went straight to the pool.
Dylan is changing so much and he is a typical two year old … always trying to see how far he can push, always checking the boundaries, ever so cheeky but also absolutely full of love and joy! He absolutely dotes on his baby sister – sometimes a bit too much! Yesterday Dylan was eating saltine crackers (which he has decided he really likes because he knows they are 'mummy's biscuits' which I had for when I was poorly), and he decided that he should share his with Abi. Before I could reach over to him after I heard him say 'Abi biscuit', he had shoved one in her mouth. She wasn't really sure of what to make of it but I don't suppose it helped that she pretty much had an entire cracker in her mouth! She actually cried when I took it away.
Moving onto Abigail. She has started to have her own little tantrums. She knows when she has something she's not supposed to – like one of Dylan's cars or his books or if she grabs something like my camera or wallet off the bed. As soon as you take it off her, she screams! And I mean screams! Nothing will console her apart from giving her back the thing that she originally had. She's a little madam but so cute with it! She is growing up so quickly! As I think I've said before – I'm running out of places I can put her down where she is safe because she is becoming more and more mobile. If I lay her in the middle of the bed, she rolls and rolls and rolls! She can also sit up unaided for a few seconds now so I am trying to let her sit up for a few minutes at a time a few times each day. She is just desperate to walk and be running around after Dylan. She absolutely adores him and whenever she watches him, she laughs at everything he does, which he thinks is brilliant! It's so lovely to watch them playing together and making each other laugh! It just melts my heart! :)
So onto me. I was useless with the whole giving up coca-cola and gave into temptation a few times, so I am back to square one! Since being as ill as I was on Friday I made a promise to myself that I would give up coke and I mean it this time, and I'm going to try and eat healthier too. I think that's part of the reason I was so ill. I haven't really been looking after myself properly. I always make sure that I cook for Dylan, but I just tend to pick at food and that's not good! So, turning a new leaf – I haven't had any coke since Thursday! OK, so that's only a couple of days but that's pretty good for me.
On Thursday I spent some time looking on the internet for children's furniture (mainly wardrobes) as I know I need to buy some when our cargo arrives. Whilst looking I came across an Indian online advertising site which has shops as well as private sales. There was an advert for an air purifier and this was the advert. I thought it was so funny that I wanted to share it on here. I just cut and paste it from the advert so it's exactly as it was printed on the website ...
Sweet little babies, every body loves them
Are babies born with that baby smell or is it something else?
Everything has a scent. May be terrible urinal smell, may be disposable baby wipes, may be the shampoo/soap, may be baby power, may be mothballs, the food & fruits they eat, mold, plants etc..
Baby's bad unpleasant urine smells worse & stinks every indoor all the time.
Getting so frustrated!
It is logical to take preventative measures which are safe for both mum and baby, and very hygienic. Buy BIONIX Air Purifier NOW and have good clean indoor air
Hope it made you smile! On that note, I am going to close for today and will post more soon. I apologise again for my delay in writing and I appreciate everyone who takes time out of their day to read my blog. Till tomorrow :)
No comments:
Post a Comment