We had a lovely day today. Woke up late (for us) at about 7.45 and I started to slowly get things ready to go to Melinda's house. I had booked the taxi for 12 and asked him to please make sure he was on time as we were going to Mel's house for lunch and I didn't want to be late.
Dylan had the runs all morning and I felt so bad for him not only because he obviously wasn't feeling great but because the potty training had been going so well that I have stopped using the sticker chart and then today I made him wear a nappy. He couldn't understand why I kept putting nappies on him when in his mind, he clearly knows when he needs to go to the toilet! Anyway, I'm happy to say that by mid-morning, the runs stopped.
At 12.15, with no sign of the taxi I called Tyagi to ask him where his 'brother' was. He said he would call me back. After 5 or 6 minutes I tried to call him again and he wasn't answering his phone. Then he called me back and told me to go downstairs after 5 minutes because his friend was nearly here. We got downstairs and waited and waited and no sign. I was getting really frustrated now as it was hot and I was carrying Abi, the nappy bag and a bag with a chocolate cake I made in it and with all that trying to keep Dylan from running off to the park or the shop! I phoned Tyagi again and as I did the taxi turned up … 35 minutes late!!
We headed over to Melinda's apartments. When we got there I couldn't remember her apartment number. I thought she lived on the 7th floor so was going around ringing doorbells trying to find her. I tried to call her mobile about 4 times but there was no answer!! We got back in the lift and went down to the ground floor again and the security man told me her apartment number. We finally got there over an hour late!!
We had a lovely lunch and Dylan and Charlotte played and Isabel and Abi sat on the floor laughing and communicating with each other, which was so cute! Isabel is very much like Abi – she is such a laid back happy baby and it's really lovely to see :)
Emma and Tia popped over to Melinda's house at about 3.45 and then we left at 4.30 to head home. I didn't want to get caught in the horrendous traffic as I have the last couple of times heading home from that side of town. Luckily, it worked and we got home at 5.20. We came upstairs, put everything in the house, picked up the single pushchair and Dylan's shopping trolley and we went down to the shop. I needed to get a few bits and it was also a good way to pass some time keeping Dylan busy before bed. I knew that he was tired and had I let him just chill, he would've fallen asleep at 5.30! At the shop, I tried to pay with our groceries with a Rs.1000 note but it had a tear in it and the guy refused to accept it. I kept trying to explain that it was fine, it just needed a bit of cellotape but he point blank refused to accept it. Abigail had started screaming in her pushchair so I told him to just send the bill up to my apartment and I would give the delivery man a different note.
We got back from the shop, I made dinner for DJ and then I started thinking about getting them ready for bed. It was about 6.15 when DJ finished his food and I could see how tired he was. As I was about to get them in the bath, Isaac turned up with Divya so Dylan played for a few minutes while I got the bath ready. I was still keen to get them both to bed because of how tired both they (and I) were. Isaac left just before 7 and I put DJ in bed and then took Abigail to bed. They were both asleep by 7.25 and I went straight to bed myself. I had a headache, probably just from being over tired. I fell asleep.
My alarm woke me up at 9 and I got up to order some pizza as I knew that Pen would be home soon and neither of us had eaten since lunch time. Pizza (Dominos) is always so good – they deliver within 20-25 minutes because the restaurant is very close to our apartment. When the delivery boy arrived, he told me it was Rs.890 (which is roughly £12). I handed him the Rs.1000 note (the torn one) and I saw him look at it and start to hold it up to the light. I had cellotaped it so it wasn't as obvious but he was still about to look. I distracted him by telling him to just give me Rs.100 change. That is a HUGE tip. Normally we tip about 20 – this time I was telling him I was going to tip him 110! He didn't waste any time. He said 'Thank you Ma'am', gave me 100 rupees and was out of there with the torn cellotaped note! Objective achieved!! :)
Pen didn't end up getting home until after 11, by which time I was asleep again.
No comments:
Post a Comment