It's Friday again!! Where does the week go?! I just can't believe how fast the time goes by. Sometimes I wonder how I fill my days especially when we have a day like today where we haven't actually gone out or done anything in particular, but managed to fill the day anyway.
As I mentioned above, we didn't go out today but stayed home and I played in the play room with the kids. I took a few photos of them and then a couple of videos too. Penri always says that I spend too much time living through my camera but I'm not – not only am I making memories for the kids when they are older (as they won't remember these early days), I am also sharing the children growing up with our friends and family via my blog and Facebook. I love looking at other people's photos and videos so I hope people feel the same about mine.
We got Tata Sky installed today so now have television in the living room! Up until now, the living room has been rarely used because there is no point sitting in there when there is nothing to do in there. It's quite cool; it means we have films, entertainment channels, kids tv and sports for Penri. Pen decided he was going to work from home today but then at 4 o'clock he said he had to go into the office as there was a problem.
The afternoon passed really quickly after that and before I knew it, I was putting the kids to bed and thinking about dinner for Pen and I.
Saturday 18th
I was up really early this morning. Both children were awake by 7 so I had to get up to sort them both out with breakfast, showers, getting dressed etc. Dylan is at the stage now where I need to convince him to get dressed. He just loves running around naked! Since we started potty training I have been letting him run around in just his pants (as it makes it so much easier to get to the potty quickly!) but now he is so good at going on the potty that even if he is wearing shorts, he can still get there in time. Anyway, in order to get him dressed I have to really emphasize how cool his clothes are so this morning, for example, I said to him 'WOW! Look DJ, Daddy's little monster on the t-shirt' and he looked at me for a second before getting into it too. He said 'WOW, monster' and allowed me to put the t-shirt on him. The shorts were a bit harder to persuade him with, but in the end we managed it. Got some cute pictures of him and Abi today in the playroom:
As we were up so early I managed to get a lot done before 9 a.m! I sorted out the rubbish and put it outside the front door as our rubbish gets collected every morning at 9 and if it's not outside, they ring the doorbell so I prefer to just have it there ready. I made brownies, I did two lots of clothes washing, washed the dishes, tidied up, replied to my e-mails and between all this managed to get the children washed, dressed and fed and into the playroom. Busy morning though! By 10 a.m when Abi went for a nap I was exhausted!
Alex phoned at about 10.30 and asked if she could pop over to pick up the suitcases I said she could borrow, which was fine as both Abi and Pen were sleeping and DJ was playing cars in his room. Alex arrived and had a cup of tea and a brownie and then about 10 minutes later Divya arrived with Isaac. The boys played for about 15 minutes before they left. They were going shopping and I had to get ready to go shopping too.
I got the pushchair and nappy bag etc ready by the front door then I got myself ready, then DJ and then when Abi woke up, I woke Pen up too. Off we went.
We went to the bank first as Pen was getting some money out for me to exchange into Riyals and because it was a Saturday morning, and we knew it would be busy, I waited with the children in the car. While we were sitting there, this man walked right up to Penri's car window and started really staring at the children. Then he got his mobile out and pretended to be looking at the motorbike that was parked next to our car. He was walking around and around it and kept glancing at the car. I knew what he was doing – he wanted to take a photo of the children on his phone. As I have mentioned in a previous post – I really don't mind people taking pictures of the children – if they ask, I always say yes. But, it really gets my goat when people try and take pictures slyly. It drives me crazy! So, this guy was still hanging around holding his phone and glancing at the car; I picked up the large sun screen visor thing we have and put it across the car windows so he couldn't see us any more. He walked away after that. Creepy!
Pen came back and we went to Ambience Mall … our weekly Saturday ritual. Food shopping first in Big Bazaar. We didn't actually need too much this week so Pen went to get his hair cut and took the pushchair (and Abi) with him and I took DJ with the trolley and whizzed around the shop. When Pen came to find me, he was pushing the pushchair with one hand and carrying an extremely red faced, snotty little Abi. She had been really crying bless her! As soon as she saw me, she was fine again. I think it's probably because one of the ladies in the hairdressers picked her up to hold her and she got a bit freaked out.
We finished the food shop and Pen took the stuff down to the car, while I took the children upstairs to the Food Court. Pen joined us and we had some lunch and then took DJ to the play area. Pen went off to shop and I went to sit opposite the play area to feed Abi (as she wanted to sleep). After about 10 minutes of sitting there, the man from the play area phoned me and said I needed to come. My first thought was DJ had run to the Early Learning Centre again, but I looked over (as I could see the play area from where I was sat) and I could see DJ playing quite happily. I phoned the man back and asked what the problem was as Dylan wasn't upset. The man said 'Toilet! Toilet!' Thinking that Dylan had a dirty nappy, I put Abi in the pushchair and walked over to the play area. When I got there, I saw what the problem was. His nappy wasn't dirty – it was wet – so he decided to take his shorts and nappy off and was running around the play area in only his t-shirt!!! I quickly grabbed a clean nappy and picked up his shorts and left a screaming Abi in the pushchair so I could go and dress Dylan.
I left again and went to sit and finish feeding Abi. She didn't go to sleep so when Pen came back, we all went to Reliance shop (including DJ who had had enough of the play area). We picked up a few bits in Reliance and then DJ was asking to go on the yellow car. We decided to let him go on the car and then we would head home. He had a quick ride on the motorised car and then we went for a quick drink in one of the big restaurants upstairs. They have lots of animals in there that move and make sounds. DJ has never seen them move before. He loves going to just look at the animals but we thought we would go and see if we could get them to switch the animals on.
DJ loved it – there was an elephant, giraffe, snake and monkey that all moved. There were other animals too which he loved going around and looking at. I wish I'd had my camera with me as Dylan's face was a picture. He was absolutely fascinated!!
We left the mall at about 4 and headed home. Abigail fell asleep in the car and for the first time in a long time I was able to bring her upstairs and keep her asleep whilst laying her in her cot. She was really tired!!
DJ and I played while Pen did some work and then Laura phoned and we all had a nice chat with her. The evening went pretty fast after that – before I knew it, I was making dinner and getting the children ready for bed. I was so tired that I thought I would get into bed and watch a film. I started watching the last Harry Potter film, which I have watched before but I ended up going into labour about half way through so I don't really remember it lol. I only managed about 10 minutes of the film before falling asleep!! I will watch it at some point :)
Sunday 19th September
It was raining really heavily this morning. We had decided to go out today as we wanted to go and buy a foot spa. We also wanted to go and check out this place in one of the shopping malls where you can put your feet in a fish tank and these little fish suck off all the dead skin. It sounds gross, I know!
Abi ended up having a really long nap this morning so DJ played in his room and I pottered around the house a bit. I spoke to Efi on Skype but unfortunately couldn't get my camera to work. It was really annoying as her little boy wanted to see and talk to DJ, but it didn't work. I tried to fix the webcam and couldn't so told her I would ring later.
We decided because it was already 12 p.m to have lunch at home before going out so I made food for Dylan, P and myself and dished Abi up a tiny bit of baked beans. She is still being fairly difficult with the food so I thought it may encourage her if she ate the same time as us and also had what we were having. It worked a treat! She loved the baked beans and ate them without me even mashing them up. After eating we set off down to the car. DJ was so excited to go out! He absolutely LOVES going anywhere – it doesn't matter where – he just likes to get in the car and go somewhere.
We went to City Centre mall and Penri had the foot thing done in the fish tank. It was the weirdest thing to see. As soon as he put his feet in, all these little fish swam to his feet really quickly and attached themselves to him. While Pen was getting his feet done, I took the children upstairs to the toy shop and then we went into a gift shop called Archie's. I ended up buying myself a new watch, which is something I've been wanting to buy for a while. Afterwards we went back to see Pen, who was nearly finished. He said it felt amazing afterwards and persuaded me to do it as well. He told me if I didn't try it, I would regret it, so I did. It is the weirdest feeling … you can't describe it. It doesn't hurt – it just really tickles and it's a really odd sensation. Lots of people stopped and asked me if it hurt and what it felt like. I must admit, it looks worse than it is. After about 10 minutes, your feet kind of go numb anyway. I managed to find a picture on the internet to explain better what it looks like:


We left the mall as I had to feed Abigail and there was nowhere really suitable. I fed her in the car while we were in the car park. As it turned out, it took us about 20 minutes to get out of the car park as a car had blocked us in. We were totally stuck in this space with no way of getting out. There was a man with the car that had blocked us in but he said he couldn't move it. After about 10 minutes – and Penri getting more and more angry, the man next to us went to phone the driver of the car that was blocking us. He came and moved his car – no apology or anything! Penri just lent out of the window and said 'nice parking, idiot!'
We went to Spencers shop where we bought a foot spa and a few little grocery bits. We finally got home at 6. The children were relieved to get back in that, as soon as I put them in the playroom, they both happily started playing. I changed nappies and got them ready for bed and then let them play until it was time to go to sleep. They both went to sleep early, with no problems! DJ slept right through until 6 a.m! Abi woke up a fair few times in the night, but it wasn't too bad as I myself had gone to sleep at 8 as soon as they were in bed :)
No comments:
Post a Comment